Catching a Phone Thief

Becky O. Peleowo
5 min readOct 3, 2024

--

Memoirs of a Language Tutor
(Photo from Pixabay)

Whenever I encounter an issue that hinges on morality and values, I hear my mother’s falsetto voice playing aggressively in my head. She always had a didactic melody for every lesson taught and she would sing this song numerous times with so much nasal resonance that the tune clings to your brain like a malignant tumour. This morning, one particular tone played louder than the others as I made a mental note to consciously instil the importance of integrity and honesty in my toddler.
« Kini n o f’ole se laye ti mo o wa o, kini n o f’ole se… », the poetic line of the old tune which translates to mean “What would I do with stealing in my life?” did not just push itself forward from my head. The recent theft at Sunrise International College triggered it. The Grade 12 pupils were out of their class because they had finally found the culprit who had been stealing, not only from his classmates but also from some other pupils. The thief had been purloining the stolen items in such a manner that was worthy of research by experts in criminology.
“She’s done for today!” Adefuwa, the Head Girl said emphatically to her best friend, Wole. “The last time I lost my movie ticket, I recall she was the only one standing close to me on the assembly ground. She must have picked the ticket from my skirt pocket.”
“Robin Hood Reborn!” Wole chipped in laughing at his silly joke.
I did not find it funny listening to the reports narrated by the kids as each told their story of how they had lost an item mysteriously. I was the class teacher of the new grade 7 pupils. It was just the second week of the first term and I did not want them picking up bad habits from their seniors. If only these kids had mothers like ours who would preach the good news of morality at every opportunity. The repetition of instructions makes it easier for us to remember and use them when needed.
Serena, the accused, looked downcast and forsaken. Who wouldn’t be when indicted as the thief of all the missing items in the school? She brought judgment on herself the moment she advanced from stealing from students to pilfering from the food vendor’s pot of stew. Mummy Canteen was bent on finding the person who picks the meat from her cooking pot so she set a trap for poor Serena and caught her right in the act. Meanwhile, there have been reports about her being present every time a theft occurred and she had no alibi to vindicate her. I felt sorry for the 18-year-old girl who might have become a thief because of parental negligence. Her sister who had just graduated from the school had records of suggestive sexual behaviours towards male teachers and this speaks volumes about parental responsibility. Surprisingly the young girl confessed to her crimes after Oracle, the principal of Sunrise International School, scrutinised her. She was given a light punishment with serious counselling and adequate threats to keep her away from pilferage but she was far from being shielded from the spotlight.

Barely a week after the embarrassing incident, Serena was accused of another theft and I was the accuser. How dare she? The stolen item this time was a white, glossy Etisalat phone I had purchased for myself. I know I bought the phone for its chic and sleek appearance but then it was a new phone I bought with my hard-earned money and stealing it was on a par with building her castle near a volcano. I was red with fury as I ransacked the whole library which served as my office. Serena was the only person who had come to the library that day. She had been studying in the library since the ignominious incident and I should have known she was out for bigger thefts but the compassionate me always liked to see the good in others despite their glaring devil’s traits. I even encouraged her to use the library in her leisure time because most of her previous friends avoided her. Who wants to be associated with a thief anyway?
“Mrs B. I know it’s not a good thing to swear but I can swear by anything that I did not steal your phone.” Serena looked like she had never stolen in her life. Wow, she was a pro I thought, but refused to be deceived. Oracle mobilised the prefects to search every corner of the school. Bags were upturned and lunch boxes were scoured but my new mobile phone was not in sight. The lava erupting in me has started splintering angry sparks.
“Where’s my phone Serena?” I advanced towards the forlorn-faced teenager.
“I really don’t know Mrs B.”
A lava-filled slap landed across Serena’s face and I knew I had crossed the line. She was just a young adult and needed guidance rather than condemnation but the thought of using a quarter of my salary to buy the trending mobile phone had clouded my judgement and I could not hold back the slap. I resorted to subtle pleas and promises if only Serena would admit her crime but she was unbending. Everyone returned to their preoccupations and I was left alone with Serena to get my phone back. Resigned, I succumbed and told her to leave. She left without expressing what was written in her sad eyes but I was too busy mourning my loss to notice her chagrin.
The following day was a turning point in my life. I resolved never to accuse someone of a crime without solid evidence. Moreso, I gifted Serena some cash not because I won the lottery but because I found my lost phone right under my bed at home. How this happened I cannot explain as I was so certain I brought the phone to school the previous day. What baffled me most was Serena’s composure while I accused her wrongly. Her guilt from the previous incident did not give her the courage to fight for her truth so she silently bore the brunt of the accusation because no one would believe her.
Thinking back many years after, I can clearly say that of the things I should never have done in my life, violating the 9th commandment tops the list for me.

All her friends abandoned her (Pixabay Photos)

--

--

Becky O. Peleowo

Not a conformista when there's a need for change. I write about those movie-like events on love, life and family.